2016 Tattersalls Art Prize - Commendation and Finalists

Published on 9 Sep 2016 1:29:08 pm

Mitchell Fine Art congratulates represented artists Min-Woo Bang, Jeff Makin and Margaret Loy Pula on their selection into the 2016 Tattersall's Art Prize. 

Each year over 100 artists are selected from each State andTerritory and are invited to exhibit a painting in the Tattersall's Club Landscape Art PrizeThis year's art prize has attracted a wealth of 86 high calibre entrants. Now in its 26th year the prize awards $30,000 to the winning entry.

The prize this year was won by Sydney -based artist Ann Thomson for her work 'Breakwater'.  The award is acquisitive and the winning entry becomes the newest addition to Tattersall’s Club's art collection

We further congratulate Margaret Loy Pula for receiving a Commendation Award for her work 'Anatye (Bush Potato)'.

Margaret Loy Pula Anatye

 “This painting is about my culture. That’s my father’s dreaming. This is from my father’s country, that country is called “Unjangola”. That is north of Utopia, not too far but really desert country”. The bush potato vine grows after the rains. The women go out to collect the potato. Once collected they are cooked in the hot coals of the fire."

Jeff Makin Mt Warning 2016 92x122cm Oil on Linen

 Jeff Makin 'Mt Warning 2016' 


Min-Woo Bang Dark Storm

  Min-Woo Bang 'Dark Storm'




The judging took place on Monday 5 September and the judges included Chris Saines, Director of the Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art, Stella Downer, Director of Stella Downer Fine Art and judge of Salon des Refuses, Dr Campbell Gray, Director of The University of Queensland Art Museum and Ernie Ward, Tattersall’s Club Commiteeman.

The exhibition can be viewed at the Tattersall's Club’s Members’ Bar in the CBD until Sep 9 and then at the Riverside Centre for the two-week exhibition from Monday to Friday, Sept 12th - 23rd.

Kudditji Kame Kngwarreye & Idris Murphy exhibition, showing from June 10th.

A selection of Aboriginal and Contemporary artworks available in the gallery stockroom.

Congratulations to 2020 John Leslie Art Prize Finalist Min-Woo Bang.